Published On: Sun, Feb 15th, 2015

Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon 2015 a Huge Success

Share This

tatathonBhubaneswar: The much awaited Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon, the first professional run of the city organised by the steel major today turned out as a grand event with participation of more than 3000 runners in it. The 10 km run was flagged off at 6 am at Kalinga Stadium by Shri Sidhant Mohapatra, MP, Berhampur; cricketer Mr Sourabh Tiwari, Mr. Arun Misra, Vice President, Gopalpur Project, Mr Prashant Mallick, General Manager, Corporate Services, Kalinganagar Project, Tata Steel and Mr Manikanata Naik, Chief Resident Executive, Tata Steel, Bhubaneswar.
Mr Sukumati Laguri and Mr Pravesh Sini were the winners in female and male category respectively in 10 km run and awarded Rs 51,000.00 each. It was followed by 7km run for Corporates and 7km run for Institutions, 5 km run for School Children and 5 km walk for citizens and 3 km run for differently abled persons. The list of the winners is attached here.
Shri Sanjeev Marik, Director General of Police, Shri Saswat Mishra, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Sports & Youth Services, Government of Odisha, Shri U N Behera, Development Commissioner, Dr Krishna Kumar, VC, BDA and Municipal Commissioner, BMC, Shri T N Khuntia, DIG, CRPF, Group Centre, Bhubaneswar, Mr Farzan Heerjee, Chief, Guest Relations and Sports Tata Steel, Mr Charles Borromeo, Head, Sports, Tata Steel were present on the occasion among others and flagged off different races and also awarded the winners along with Mr Misra, Mr Tiwari and Mr Mohapatra.
The run, starting from Kalinga stadium went 5 km towards Chandrasekharpur, taking u-turn from there ended at the stadium. For the first time in the state the runners were given smart RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) chips to track the participants’ performance and location bringing a professional sporting experience.

The Kalinga stadium wore a festive look as thousands including senior government officers, corporate executives, students from various institutions and schools, ran in different categories while a crowd of people from different walks of life cheered for them. The prize money for the champions of the event was as follows – 10Km Men & Women Rs. 51000 each, 7Km Men & Women for Corporates Rs. 15000 each, 7Km Men & Women for Institutions Rs. 15000 each. Besides the other first 4 winners in different events, both male and female, were also awarded in the run.
Speaking on the occasion Mr. Arun Misra, said that the huge success of this Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Run-a-thon proves the appeal of such professional events to the sports loving people of the state and Tata Steel is committed to make it a landmark event in the sporting calendar of Odisha in coming days.

About the Author