Published On: Wed, Feb 11th, 2015

States can flexibly use of central assistance of Rs.4,000 per toilet, says Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu

10983308_1071885496171135_2473564924431867345_nNew Delhi: Members of the Parliamentary Consultative Committee of the Ministries of Urban Development and Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation today discussed the shortcomings in the implementation of the Jawaharlal Nehru Urban Renewable Mission (JNNURM) and the improvements being made for better implementation of new urban schemes at a two hour long meeting of the committee.

Minister of Urban Development and HUPA Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu gave a detailed account of the new initiatives and improvements being made in respect of new initiatives. He informed the MPs that states are being given flexibility in designing, resource mobilization and implementation of the new schemes.

Shri Naidu clarified that States and Urban Local Bodies are being extended central assistance of Rs.4,000 per toilet under Swachh Bharat Mission in urban areas and this can be leveraged with other sources like the share of states and urban local bodies, contribution of corporates under CSR, NGOs, private organisations etc., for construction of household toilets.

Shri Venkaiah Naidu informed the MPs that in the light of the experience of implementation of JUUNURM, effective implementation of new schemes is being ensured through assured land availability before sanction of projects, release of funds within 7 days of approval, inclusion of Operation & Maintenance (O&M) expenditure in capital costs, moving to next level of reforms, handholding of urban local bodies, extensive consultations with states and urban local bodies to promote ‘bottom-up’ approach etc.

Expressing concern over financial states of urban local bodies, MPs suggested that flow of some portion of the proposed GST to urban local bodies should be ensured.

Members of Parliament Shri MotilalVora, Shri BhartruhariMahtab, Shri KiritSimaiyya, Shri Vijay Goel, Ms.VandanaChavan, Shri RatanLalKataria, Shri DhananjayBhimraoMahadik, Shri BaburaoVichare, Shri RaghavLakhanpal, Shri ParveshSaheb Singh Verma and Shri Saumitra Khan attended the Parliamentary Consultative meeting.

About the Author