Published On: Fri, Sep 30th, 2016

Bollywood star Aishwarya Rai, India’s leading singers to felicitate Clean India champions at India Today Safaigiri Awards 2106

itgNew Delhi: The India Today Group announces the 2nd edition of the “India Today Safaigiri Awards 2016” – a platform that will showcase and felicitate the pioneering efforts of those who are leading the change in cleanliness. This is in continuation to the first edition that was launched in 2015, one year after Prime Minister Narendra Modi nominated Mr. Aroon Purie, Chairman and Editor in Chief, India Today Group to be a Clean India advocate.

The event will be held on 2nd October, the second anniversary of the Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan launch and the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. India Today Safaigiri Awards & Singathon will be a daylong event and will get musicians together to celebrate the SAFAIGIRI movement. The biggest names in music will come together to spread the “SAFAI KI DHUN”.

Bollywood actor Aishwarya Rai & M. Venkaiah Naidu, Union Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Information & Broadcasting will be the key note speakers at the India Today Safarigiri Awards. They will also be presenting the awards to the Clean India Champions.
The event will be highlighted by the Safai Singathon with singers performing throughout the day. The singers attending the daylong event include – Mika Singh, Adnan Sami, Sukhwinder Singh, Kailash Kher, Shalmali Kholgade, Shilpa Rao, Rekha Bhardwaj, Hans Raj Hans & Himesh Reshammiya.

The winners are selected across categories through a process of online entries, field work, and selection by a jury of eminent citizens. The jury members include Mr. Aroon Purie, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, India Today Group, Mr. Chetan Bhagat, Indian author, Mr. Rajeev Chandrasekhar, MP, Ms. Vidya Balan, Actor, Mr. Vinayak Chatterjee, Chairman, Feedback Infrastructure Services Pvt. Ltd, Mr. Bindeswar Pathak, Founder, Sulabh International and Mr. Rajiv B Lall, Managing Director & Vice Chairman of Infrastructure Development Finance Company (IDFC).

About the Author